Michael Yartsev, Ph.D.


Assistant Professor of Neurobiology and Engineering
Principal Investigator


Department of Bioengineering

Helen Wills Neuroscience Institute
UC Berkeley

More about Michael



Lab Manager

Yuka Minton


Postdoctoral scholars

Wujie Zhang, Ph.D






Angelo Forli, Ph.D

EMBO Fellow

HFSP Fellow



Will Liberti, Ph.D




Boaz Styr, Ph.D

HFSP Fellow




Julie Elie, Ph.D





Graduate students

Maimon Rose

Helen Wills Neuroscience Graduate Program

Entering class of 2015 

NSF honorable mention



headshot_msnyder (1).jpg

Madeleine Snyder

Bioengineering Graduate Program

Entering class of 2019

NSF Fellow


Kevin Qi 

Biophysics Graduate Program

Entering class of 2020

Undergraduate students

Barbara Shvareva




Leo Huang




Rae Fariolen



Beiqi Wang




Maggie McDonough



Christopher Lung


Nicole Wang

Sun-Wee Yun




Ofer Tchernichovski

On Sabbatical from Hunter College: 2019

Tobias Schmid

Graduate student: 2016-2021

Currently: The Column group (Science driven venture capital)

Nicholas Dotson

Post-Doc: 2017-2020

Currently: Project Scientist at Salk Institute

Daria Genzel

Visiting Scholar/Research Specialist: 2015-2020

Currently: Product Designer at SpikeGadget

Lindsey Loomis

Staff Research Associate: 2018-2020

Currently: Associate Supervisor at OLAC


Charlotte Diges

Lab Manager: 2016-2017

In Vivo Quality Lead at The Jackson LaboratoryLab Manager